Meet Coach Gustavo Esquivel

Meet Coach Gustavo Esquivel

Q & A With Coach Gustavo "Goose" Esquivel


Q:  Where are you from?
A:  Born in Queretaro, Mexico and raised in Milwaukee

Q:  What city do you live in currently?
A:  I currently live in Milwaukee.

Q:  How long have you lived in the Milwaukee area?
A:  All my life. I know the city fairly well.

Q:  What school did you graduate from?
A:  I graduated from Marquette High School in 2009 and Cardinal Stritch University in 2014.

Q:  What was your field of study?
A:  I graduated with a bachelor's degree in education and mathematics.

Q:  Best playing memory?
A:  Making it to the NAIA National Tournament for the first time in Cardinal Stritch's history.

Q:  Big or small family?
A:  Small family of five - two younger brothers. One brother lives in Milwaukee and the other is currently living in New Mexico. Most of our extended family lives out of state.

Q:  Do you have any pets?
A:  I have a Siamese cat named Moquita and a Beagle/Hound mix named Ollie.

Q:  Favorite soccer team?
A:  FC Barcelona

Q:  Favorite soccer player?
A:  Xavi Hernandez

Q:  Who’s better, Messi or Ronaldo?
A:  Messi

Q:  Favorite professional coach?
A:  Pep Guardiola

Q:  How long have you coached for?
A:  I have coached for about seven years.

Q:  How long have you coached at FC Wisconsin?
A:  All of my years of coaching have been at FC.

Q:  Are you full-time or part-time with FC Wisconsin?
A:  I am full-time with our Junior Academy and help with the U11s and U12s from time to time.

Q:  What is your day job?
A:  I am a math teacher at Waukesha North High School. I teach geometry.

Q: Favorite sport to watch besides soccer?
A:  I like watching football.

Q:  Favorite thing to do in your free time?
A:  Go on bike rides around the Oak Leaf Trail

Q:  Who’s your favorite athlete?
A:  Usain Bolt

Q:  What was your first job? When did you have it?
A:  Refereeing at Milwaukee Sports Complex when I was 17 years old

Q:  Do you prefer to cook or eat out?
A:  Eat out

Q:  What’s your favorite meal?
A:  Pollo con mole (chicken in mole sauce)

Q:  What is your favorite type of ethnic food?
A:  Asian Cuisine: Thai, Chinese, Korean, and Japanese

Q:  What is your favorite holiday and why?
A:  Halloween, because of the costumes

Q:  Favorite T.V. series?
A:  The Office

Q:  Favorite music artist?
A:  Juanes

Q:  Favorite time of the year and why?
A:  Summer, because I get to spend time with my wife and family

Q:  Best city you’ve visited?
A:  Denver, Colorado